The Andrew levitt academic resident of the year

During Dr. Levitt’s illustrious days as the Research Director, Highland’s EM program developed an international reputation as a source of reliable, practice-changing research in emergency medicine.  Highland helped usher in the era of professional EM, generating specialty-specific findings and practice standards. In recognition of this contribution, in 2007, the Levitt family joined with the Department of Emergency Medicine at Highland to bestow an annual award to the Highland EM resident with the greatest accomplishments in research.  

To be eligible for the award, a resident must have submitted for publication as first author of an original paper. Beyond this minimum – an extremely high bar in itself – the resident must demonstrate contributions to the research program in general, through participation in our monthly Research in Progress meetings, providing help and counsel to others engaged in research, and by the active use of up-to-date published findings at the bedside.

2016 Recipient:


Lia Ilona Losonczy is originally from New York, where she attended Columbia University for college. She attended Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore for medical school, where she also received a masters in public health in epidemiology and bio-statistics, with a focus on health care disparities. She then joined us at Highland Hospital for residency in emergency medicine, where she helped co-found the Highland Health Advocates and worked on a number of projects related to interpersonal violence and global health care. She is currently back in Baltimore at the University of Maryland/Shock Trauma Hospital for a fellowship in critical care medicine, working with physicians in Haiti to help understand and improve acute care in low resource settings.

Previous Winners:

2016: Lia Losonczy, MD, MPH Currently Fellow in Critical Care  at Maryland Shock Trauma

2015: Terry Ahern, MD Currently staff physician at Rogue Regional Medical Center, Medford, OR


Erik Anderson, MD Currently staff physician at Northern Navajo Medical Center, Shiprock, NM; former Fellow in Social Emergency Medicine at Stanford University

2014: Brian Johnston, MD, MPH Currently staff physician at Valley Medical Center, Renton, WA; former        Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2013: Oron Frenkel, MD, MS Currently on faculty at University of British Columbia; former Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2012: Matthew Rehrer, MD  Currently staff physician at Kaiser Oakland

2011: Andrew Herring, MD  Currently on faculty at Highland Emergency: former Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital

2010: Jonathan Rosenson, MD   Currently staff physician at Kaiser Oakland

2009: Brita Zaia, MD  Currently staff physician at Kaiser San Francisco

2008: Samantha Honner, MD Currently staff physician at Alta Bates/Summit Medical Center

2007: Nate Teismann, MD  Currently on faculty at University of California, San Francisco; former        Ultrasound Fellow at Highland Hospital